ANZMAC Layton Dissertation Award

ANZMAC-Layton Dissertation Award

Submission Deadline: 5pm (EAST), 1st July 2016.


Students completing the requirements for their doctoral degree in the marketing discipline between 1st January 2015 and 30th June 2016 are invited to enter the annual ANZMAC Dissertation Award Competition. Graduates must have had their thesis passed by the university (though degrees may not have yet been conferred). Applicants must be enrolled at an ANZMAC Institutional Member university. Applicants must have the expressed support of their institution and only ONE submission per Institutional Member is permitted. To be an eligible Institutional member to apply for this award, the institution must have been an ANZMAC Institutional Members for two consecutive years (including the year that the award will be awarded in), i.e. Institutional Members of ANZMAC for 2015 and 2016.


ANZMAC supports academic excellence for emerging scholars though a range of initiatives and is pleased to announce this award to recognise the quality of completed PhD dissertations of Institutional Member universities.

The award is endowed by the University of New South Wales (UNSW) as a tribute to the significant contribution of Professor Roger Layton. Professor Layton is the first Professor of Marketing at UNSW, and a leading academic within Australasia who has demonstrated sustained and ongoing commitment to the development of new and emerging academics.

Professor Layton is Emeritus Professor in the School of Marketing at UNSW. He is a Fellow of the Australian & New Zealand Marketing Academy. In 2012 he was honoured by a special issue of the Australasian Marketing Journal. Professor Layton has published widely and is the joint author of many scholarly books. His contribution to macromarketing has been recognised through the Charles Slater Memorial Award in 1990, 2008 and 2011; the 2010 Shelby D Hunt Award for the most frequently cited paper; and through the George Fisk best paper awards in 2006, 2007 and 2011. He most recently received the Robert W. Nason Award for significant and sustained contribution to the field of macromarketing at the 2013 meeting of the Macromarketing Society. In 1998, Professor Layton was made a member of the Order of Australia (AM) for his services to Marketing.


The Award winner will be recognised at the 2016 ANZMAC dinner with an achievement plaque and a cheque for AUD $500.00.


The Awards sub-committee co-chairs will appoint a panel of experts to review submissions using a double-blind review procedure. The Head of School of Marketing, UNSW will be included on this panel. The judging criteria are:

Applicants will be notified by 31st October 2016 regarding the status of their submission.


The submission should describe the research questions/issues, propositions and/or formal hypotheses (if appropriate to the method), relevant literature, data, research and analytic methods, findings, limitations of the study, conclusions, the contributions of the study for theory and practice, and suggestions for future research. The literature background, design, methods, analysis and findings should be presented in enough detail and clarity to provide a theoretical grounding for the study and to allow the proper assessment of its methodology and findings.

When printed, the submission must be no more than 30 double-spaced pages in 12-point type; this limit is inclusive of all pages (e.g., text, references, figures, tables, and appendices). The manuscript guidelines for the Australasian Marketing Journal should be used as a style guide. Submissions beyond the page limit or inconsistent with the style guidelines will not be sent out for review.

Authors should submit their manuscripts and institutional letters of support electronically as email attachments (one for the letter and one for the submission) in MS Word to Professor Michael Polonsky the Awards sub-committee Chair The letter to the award co-chairs (see below) must be included in the email message itself.

Please note that the single manuscript file must be complete (text, references, figures, tables) and sent as one file only. We cannot accept manuscript submissions sent as multiple file attachments or with incomplete information. Please do not mail hard copies.

Because the review process will be double-blind, candidates making submissions should not include author names and schools on the paper itself.

The accompanying email letter to the co-chairs should include all of the following information: author’s name, telephone number, e-mail address, the school awarding the degree, supervisors and affiliations, the date the dissertation was passed by the Institution’s HDR committee, and the candidate’s current position.

If you have any questions about the competition, please contact:

Professor Michael Jay Polonsky                                
Chair ANZMAC Awards Committee           
Phone: +61 39 9244 6968                  


Award recipient:

2015, Yanwei (Wayne) Zhang (University of Southern California, USC Marshall School of Business, USA): "Understanding Virality of YouTube Video Ads: Dynamics and Drivers"